World

The 2022 summer solstice marks the first day of the new season: NPR


The sun rises as a raptor flies past Frankfurt, Germany during the 2019 summer solstice, the so-called longest day in the northern hemisphere.

Michael Probst/AP

hide caption

toggle caption

Michael Probst/AP

The 2022 summer solstice marks the first day of the new season: NPR

The sun rises as a raptor flies past Frankfurt, Germany during the 2019 summer solstice, the so-called longest day in the northern hemisphere.

Michael Probst/AP

The summer solstice occurs on Tuesday in the northern hemisphere, marking the longest day of the year and the first day of the new season.

The event officially begins at 5:13 a.m. on the east coast of the United States, according to the National Weather Service.

A solstice occurs when “the Earth reaches the point in its orbit where the North Pole is at its maximum inclination. [about 23.5 degrees] towards the Sun, resulting in the longest day and shortest night of the calendar year,” the agency said.

During the solstice, the sun is at its highest point – above the Tropic of Cancer – and there are the most hours of daylight and the fewest hours of darkness of any day in the world. ‘year.

The solstices occur every June and December, occurring at the same time around the world and marking the longest and shortest days of the year.

While Tuesday marks the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere, it is the shortest day of the year in the Southern Hemisphere. And while summer officially begins in the northern hemisphere, winter begins in countries south of the equator, such as Australia and Brazil.

For various locations around the world, the summer solstice begins at:

2:13 a.m. in Los Angeles
3:13 a.m. in Denver
04:13 in New Orleans
10:13 a.m. in London
11:13 in Cairo
12:13 p.m. in Jerusalem
1:13 p.m. in Dubai
5:13 p.m. in Manila, Philippines
6:13 p.m. in Tokyo

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.



Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button